The Ghetto

Mar 19, 03:10 by IROSF
Have a comment on Tokamak's latest essay?

The article can be found here.
Mar 19, 22:55 by bob sale
I have a degree in English like the hypothetical chap in the essay. Can the same person enjoy the novels of Jane Austen and the novels of Isaac Asimov? How about the works of Anthony Trollope and those of James Tiptree? It seems to me that there is a profound difference in sensibility between the works of traditional novelists like Austen and Trollope and those of mainstream science fiction. I find that the more of the former I read the more difficulty I have enjoying the latter. Am I alone in this or do others experience the same thing? Can the state of the art science fiction we read diminish our capacity to enjoy the more rarefied pleasures of the novels of a Henry James or a Proust? Or rock music blast to bits our appreciation of Beethoven?
Mar 19, 23:09 by Bluejack
Perhaps some fill find the simpler pleasures of rollicking good story ruined by exposure to more elegant forms of writing while some may not. But even for those, I think there are writers of literary distinction working within the genre whose writing stacks up against any traditional form.

For my own part, I find I can enjoy a wide range of authors. Asimov, in particular, I think needs to be read with an eye toward his historical context, but certainly the same can be said for most authors. Putting Thackeray or Swift or Trollope or Dostoyevski into the context of their time and/or culture certainly deepens the appreciation of their accomplishments.
Mar 20, 00:04 by Lois Tilton
I can attest from personal knowledge that there are vast hordes of SFnal authors who adore the works of Jane Austen. There have been dozens of SFnal Shakespeare stories. A recent story by Howard Waldrop, now on the Nebula ballot, is based on the life of Flannery O'Connor.

If the literary world has disdained SF, the SFnal world has embraced the literary.

Mar 20, 10:25 by Daniel M. Kimmel